M A E – 9

Chapter 9

Close

We are so close. I can feel it in my bones. I can’t shake the feeling that we’ll find something. The feeling in the pit of my stomach hasn’t left for the entirety of two days, and it’s still here.

What are you doing?

This thought has flown through my head non-stop. Who in the right mind would follow a random animal through the woods?

I’m desperate.

I haven’t been close to finding anything until I found this fox. It seems to be leading me somewhere, and I can only hope that it’s civilization. I can only use the little bit of hope that I have left, in this fox. And it’s barely anything. I think it’s been about two weeks, maybe more. I stopped counting the days, long ago. The one thing that stays strong in my memory though, is my family.

My mother.

She’s worried sick. I can’t imagine how she feels. I bet she’s given up hope. I bet everyone has.

I would, if it were me.

The fox stops abruptly, and I accidentally walk into it, causing it to skitter away quickly. It’s done this same thing about 7 times throughout our journey, the past 2 days. It’s eyes darting everywhere, then after about a minute it continues, as if nothing had happened. I can’t help but feel protected by this creature. I know nothing about it, yet I feel like it’s watching over me, keeping me away from danger.

It won’t let me touch it.

Yesterday, after we had stopped walking for the night, I lay against a tree, hoping the fox would curl up next to me. It didn’t. It was always an arm’s reach away from me. I’ve tried stroking it’s fur multiple times, but always it will jump away, or flinch back. It’s quite strange.

We stop again, but this time I catch myself before crashing into it. It’s ears perk up, and I see it sniffing the air. Then, with a sudden quick movement, it’s gone. Through the bushes, and trees.

” No, wait, come back!”

I try to run after it, but running will use up to much of my energy. I sigh, and feel my eyebrows crinkle into a frown.

I start to take a step, but as soon as I do, here comes the fox again, this time with something in it’s mouth.

“You’re back!”

I realize how attached to this animal I have gotten just over these past few days. It’s been like my own personal therapist. At night, as I stare up at the starry sky, through the trees, I tell it everything. About my home, family,  and school.

This fox has become my friend.

I stare at it now, something bulging from it’s mouth. I creep over to it and kneel down, holding out my hand.

“Come on, what’d you get?”

I extend my hand, and surprisingly it doesn’t flinch. And then the most surprising thing happens. Gently, ever so carefully, it opens it’s mouth and sets something in my hand.

An apple.

I gasp, and reach to hug the fox, but it shrinks back again. my eyes gleam at this beautiful fruit. How in the world did it find an apple? Without thinking, I take a big bite. The sweetness is almost too much, as I purse my lips, saliva filling my mouth. It tastes like candy. I try savoring every bite, but it’s so delicious that I finish it in minutes. I hold out the core to the fox, noticing that it has been sitting, watching me eat the entire time. I hold out my hand again, and it gently takes it, making sure its mouth doesn’t touch my hand. Then we’re off again.

I’ve decided to name the fox. if it’s providing me food, and hopefully leading me to a town, it should have a name. I watch it walk in front of me. It’s back legs are rotating behind it’s front, the beautiful tail hanging low. I haven’t close enough to the fox yet, to determine if it’s a boy or girl, so it needs to have an open name.

Glow.

Yes, that’s it. When I first saw the fox, I noticed how much it’s eyes glowed, so Glow is a perfect name.

“Hey Glow, where are you taking me too?”

At this, I see it’s eyes perk up, and Glow slightly glances over at me. I smile to myself, accomplished, and we continue on.

We have been walking a while, and I have gotten so exhausted that I don’t notice the change in scenery. The trees have lessened, and there are more rocks. The sky has started to clear, and the sun even peaks out. I want to stop, to soak it in, but Glow is on a mission. We continue for a while further, until we come upon a large boulder mounted in the ground. I frown.

“Glow why’d you lead me to a rock?”

It just looks at me, silent. Wait, I hear something. I slow my breathing, and close my eyes. It’s familiar, But I haven’t heard this sound in a while.

Water!

I gasp, and run over to the big rock in front of me. I need to get up it. I start climbing, trying to put my tattered shoe into some kind of foothold. After ten minutes I reach the top, only to see that Glow is already up there, looking down at me.

” How did you..”

I look out across the landscape in front of me. My eyes widen, my hand moving up to cover my mouth.

It’s water. It’s a river in fact. I can hear the faint crashing of the rapids crashing into rocks, at least 100 feet below. The river extends as far as my eye can see. I squeal with excitement.

” Glow, I can’t believe you led me here, now all we have to do is follow the river!”

But Glow isn’t on the rock anymore. Frantically I search the parameter, looking for it’s swift tail, and then I see it. Just below me. It’s sitting, and staring up at me at the base of a log that extends over what looks like a 50 foot cliff over the river.

Oh no.

 

 

 

One thought on “M A E – 9

  1. Yay! Mae can finally get home! Of course there’s the log she has to cross, suspended over a cliff… I’ll save that worry for next week. Oh, and I love the name of the fox!

Leave a Reply