M A E- 13

Chapter thirteen

Close

 

Warmth, comfort. My heart fills up with a glow warmth.

Glow?

No, this was different. I feel like I’m floating, more alive then I’ve felt in so long. But how come everything’s dark?

Now I’m shaking again, and light is pushing through the faded and clouded darkness. Faint murmurs, whispers circle around me, the voices going in and out.

Suddenly its bright. So so bright. My eyes feel like they’re on fire, but my whole body is vibrating.

Is this heaven? Am I finally here?

A shadowed figure stands above me, I make out slight facial features, hair cascading down the shoulders. Soft, kind eyes.

Mom.

But she leaves, and the light fades out again, leaving me only with the soft glow in my heart.


The glow is gone.

I feel pain everywhere. I hear my heartbeat first. A rhythmic thump over and over. Then the familiar light comes back into my vision again, but this time everything’s clear.

I’m in a room.

Is this what heaven looks like? Everything seems white at first but as I see clearer and clearer I realize I’m in a tent. The first thought that comes to mind is a yurt because there are poles all around the walls holding up the tent. There are two other beds in front of me, but both are empty. I look down at my bed. I’m in a sort of gown, and theirs something attached to my index finger. I feel my heartbeat increase.

Did I get rescued? Is it even possible?

My vision becomes cloudy again but in a different way this time. Tears drop down and speckle the white sheets on me. I’ll be home soon with my family, and safe. I envision my mothers face, her soft cheek bones, and her warm eyes that glow when she’s happy.

I’m almost there mom.

I need to leave this place. I feel weak, but out in the wilderness, I felt worse. I peel back the covers and check out my leg. Gauze bandages wrap around it, but I can see bruises encircling around them. My backpack sits on the chair next to my bed. Slowly, I lift my leg over and set it on the floor. Carefully I set my injured leg down.

Breathe. Go.

My first mistake was standing up quickly. Instantly I feel dizzy and my stomach lurches. A surge of pain shoots up my leg. and I fall onto the floor, to weak to move again.

Everything fades again.

 

I wake up with a start this time, gasping, and grabbing at the covers around me. I feel hands touch my shoulders.

” Whoa there, it was just a dream honey, don’t worry.”

A woman is sitting at the foot of my bed, dressed in what look like slacks. Her voice is soft and gentle, and she has black thick hair cascading down her back. Her skin is an olive color, and her eyes are squinted.

She looks like a native american.

My breathing slows, but I twitch and draw my shoulder away from her. I struggle to speak, but croak out my words slowly.

” W- where am I, who- who are you?”

She extends her hand towards me and I hesitantly take it.

” Hi, I’m Doctor Palmer, I’ve been with you these past few days making sure you’re healing okay, and doing well.”

My eyes widen. A few days? Have I been here for that long?

” You have suffered from minor hypothermia, and fortunately nothing had to be removed. the cut on you’re leg was bad but I was able to salvage it, it will definitely be a long road back to recovery though. You’re extremely malnourished so over the course of a few days I’ve been feeding you a soup like substance so you’re body gets used to food again.”

Malnourished? I definitely felt hungry but I never realized how much I was actually starving myself. The doctor continued to talk.

” Now, what I really need from you is information. One of our locals found you along the riverbed, barely breathing and ice cold to the touch. Everyone thought you were dead,  but you were strong, so strong. your body fought it. and here you are. But I really need to know, how did you ever find yourself in the middle Peawanuck, Ontario Canada?”

Canada? My mouth drops open. I’m so far from home. I would have never known I was in Canada.

” I- Uh, um.”

I couldn’t say anything. My mind was everywhere. The doctor takes out a clipboard from a bag by the bed.

” Okay here. Let’s just start by you telling me you’re name, and where you live okay? We’ll go from there.”

So I tell her. I told her everything. About my family. where I live, being taken, drugged and dumped in the wilderness alone to die. I told her about Glow and how he helped me through my journey. how he ultimately led me here. All the while doctor Palmer sat listening intently, a look of shock, on her face. It was silent for a few minutes as she stared at me, her eyes becoming cloudy.

” Oh Mae, I- I have no words. It’s truly a miracle that you survived out there for so long. Truly a miracle.”

” Well Glow is the miracle, he saved me.”

Dr. Palmer looked at me confused.

” See that’s the one thing that doesn’t connect. We have no foxes inhabiting our provincial park. they would die in the weather conditions that we have.”

I laugh. ” That’s impossible, I saw him with my own eyes. He provided food for me!”

She looks at me, a look of contemplation showing on her face.

” Well Mae, There is a possibility it was a spirit. They have been known to watch over the trees and forests here.”

My mouth gapes open. What was she talking about?

” I- I’m sorry, where Am I again? I know I’m in Canada but I’m not familiar with the name of this town. It sounds native almost?”

Dr. Palmer smiles.

” It is in fact. Everyone living here speaks the language of the Peawanuck, but we all speak English as well. our population is currently 195.”

I jerk up.

” 195?”

she laughs, and her eyes twinkle.  ” Yes, yes, I know it’s surprising. we’re a small town but one large family. we live off the land and once every two weeks a sea plane will air drop supplies for us. The only way out of this town is that plane. Lucky for you it will be coming in three days!”

Three days? No I have to get home. I need to be with my mother. I need to let them know I’m safe. That I’m alive.

” No, No That- This won’t work I need to see my family I need to let them know I’m okay. Is there a phone somewhere I can use to at least call my mom?”

” I’m sorry,” Dr. Palmer says. ” We have no direct landlines or cell service out here so the only form of communication is through our satellite phone, and that’s only for airdrop deliveries. You’re going to have to wait until we get you on that plane in three days.”

I feel my eyes start to cloud again.  A pang hits my heart, and I start to cry again.

” You don’t understand. I- I’ve spent three weeks out in the baron wilderness thinking that I’ll never see my family again, facing the fact that I would die out there. The ache in my chest has never stopped. and its for my family. I need them. I need my mother. Her embrace. They think I’m dead. I just need t-” I was crying to hard to finish my words. I need my mother. I need to see her again.

” Oh honey.” She rubs my back. ” We are doing the best we can to heal you quickly so you can go. trust me , if I could find a way for you to call you’re parents I would, but theirs just no way right now. It’s only three more days. take the time to rest, and sleep.”

I wipe my nose, sighing. Only three days. It’s not too long.

Three days until I leave.

Three days until I call my mother.

Three days until I hear her voice.

” Okay,” I say.

2 thoughts on “M A E- 13

  1. I can’t wait until Mae gets back to her family! It’s a good thing she has Dr. Palmer to watch over her and comfort her for now. By the way, have you considered making illustrations for this story? I would love to see how you envision Mae.

Leave a Reply