E P I L O G E

Chapter 16

Safe

 

Holding Mae in my arms, the day she was born, was the greatest joy in my life. Her small green eyes, full of adventure and curiosity, and her fragile little hand, holding onto my finger. It was that day, that I realized I would do everything in my power to protect her, and look after her, as her father.

Hugging her, for the first time since she was taken, felt exactly like that. Like she was being born again, and I was becoming her father for the first time. I remember sobbing into her arms, Feeling as if I was the child being rescued. When she was gone, I was gone. Every day seemed pointless, and I just wanted to give up on everything.

But we found her. I remember holding onto her, rocking her back and forth whispering, ” I’ll never let you go,” over and over.

She’s safe now, she’s home.

I will never be able to forgive myself for the way I treated Martha. I didn’t take care of her, I didn’t watch out for her. And nothing will be able to change the past.

What I can change, is our future.

I stepped down from the congressman position, and now work as one of the chairmen for the state. I wasn’t going to risk Mae’s life, or our family for a job. I wouldn’t ever let that happen again.

Since Mae has been home, we decided to set her up with a therapist. Martha and I agreed that Mae needed extra comfort. She’s getting better, little by little. When I saw her for the first time, I gasped at how skinny she had become. She could have died out there. In the wilderness. But she’s here, and I won’t ever let her go again.

It was by the grace of god that she was saved. I thank him everyday for the town of Peawanuck. Some nights I’ll go into Mae’s room, and watch her sleeping. It’s all I can do, to not lay down with her, and hold her in my arms, keeping her safe.

One night, I went in to check on her but she wasn’t in her bed. I rushed over to her mattress and tore off the sheets. Frantically I searched her room.

” Mae,” I screamed. ” No no no, Mae.”

I was about to rush out of her room, when her head poked up from floor, beside her bed.

“Dad?”

My heart fluttered, and I ran over to her, pulling her into my arms. My shoulders started to shake.

” Dad, I’m okay, I’m here. I’m sorry, Sometimes I sleep on the floor, because the bed is too cushy.”

I pull my head back. I look behind her, and see the pillow and blanket. I feel a weight on my chest and look at the ground. She slept on rocks, and dirt for almost a month, of course she doesn’t feel comfortable. I put my hands to my eyes.

” Oh- I- yes, of course, I’m sorry, It scared me because I-”

Mae wrapped her arms around me, pulling me in.

” I’m here dad, and I’m never letting go.”

” You could have died, and I had no idea, I couldn’t save you, I di-”

Mae pulls away and looks up at me.

” Dad, you can’t think like that. I’m here. I’m here now and that’s all that matters.”

I pull her into my arms again. ” I know, I know, I won’t lose you again.”

” I know dad, but I survived.”

” We survived.”

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “E P I L O G E

Leave a Reply