M A R T H A – 10

Chapter ten

Forgotten

Cool air. Wind. Comfort.

My hair flies all over the place, as I sit in Kathy’s jeep, speeding down the highway. I haven’t felt this at peace since Mae was taken. I can feel the tension in my body releasing as we gain speed. Kathy spent days trying to convince me that this was the right thing to do, but I kept being stubborn, until I gave in. Kathy’s plan consisted of us buying plane tickets to Washington D.C. where we would go to the official headquarters, and talk to the investigators there. It’s a horrible idea, it really is. There’s a large chance that they may not even listen to us. But if this is my last chance to find my Mae, then its what I have to do.

For her.

So here we are, in Kathy’s bright blue jeep, speeding down the highway. On our way to Mae.

We board the plane around 8 p.m, and it will be a four hour flight to D.C. I have the window seat, and look outside, the sun setting along the horizon of the plane run ways.

I’m almost there Mae.

I feel the plane lurch forward, and soon we’re off. I look over at Kathy reading a magazine. She’s been so helpful these past days. She’s been the one person along side me, that still has hope. Not even Mark does, and it breaks my heart. When I told him about Kathy and I’s plan, the same sad, and worried expression showed on his face. Inside, I hoped that he would ask if he could come too. I really wanted him too.

He didn’t.

He tried telling me that there was no point in doing it, but I ignored him, and left in a rage out the door. I feel horrible about it now. I shouldn’t be so angry at him. He really does care about us finding Mae and getting her back home.  But I guess the difference between us is that he lost hope from the very beginning.

 

I wake up with a start. Kathy is gently shaking me awake.

” Martha, hey Martha, we’re here!”

I rub my eyes, and look out the window. Below me, are thousands and thousands of tiny lights, all faintly lit up, thousands of feet below me. They light up, through the dark night sky.

“You were out for the entire flight. I tried shaking you awake once to see if you were hungry but you didn’t budge. I guess you were tired.” She smiles and hands me a little bag of peanuts.

“Thank you,” I say. ” I just haven’t gotten any sleep, these past few days. The nightmares are constant.”

She looks at me with concern.

” You still haven’t gotten that checked out, have you?”

My stomach suddenly fills up with a ball of anger.

” I did, and it was a mistake,” I snap back. I instantly regret what I say, as I see the Kathy’s eyes cloud over. I see people looking at me in other seats of the plane, and feel my face start to grow warm.

I reach out my hand.

” Oh Kathy, I- I’m sorry, ” I whisper. “I didn’t mean to say it like that, it’s just really a -”

” No, no it’s okay. You have every right to lash out sometimes, that was very un- polite of me. I won’t talk about it again, I’m sorry.” She warmly smiles at me, and picks up our bags beneath us. The intercom crackles through the speakers above us and I flinch up with a start.

” Ladies and gentlemen we have now landed in Washington D.C. Please check your seats for any belongings, and take your bags. Thank you for flying with Delta Airlines, we hope you enjoy you’re stay.”

We grab our bags, and start down the aisle, one step closer to Mae.

We step out of the airport, and the warm breeze welcomes me. It’s still about 80 degrees, even thought its 12 P.M and My jeans, and long sleeve blouse are already sticking to me. The air smells fresh and welcoming as I follow Kathy down the sidewalk, suitcases in hand, until we stop in front of a nice car. It’s a black convertible. I look questionably at her.

” That’s a really nice car, but why did we stop? Wheres our rental?”

She laughs, motioning with her hands, ” It’s right here! This is our ride for the next few days. I thought we could drive in style!”

I look sternly at her, a feeling a worry flowing through me. ” Oh Kathy, I don’t know… It- It’s a really nice car, but we’re only here to go to the FBI headquarters. It’s our one and only priority.”

” Yes, yes, I know, I just wanted to make it a little bit more fun. You need to let loose, just-”

I snap at her. ” Don’t you dare say that, We both know the only reason for coming down here is to get closer to finding Mae. This isn’t some vacation.”

Kathy furrows her eyebrows. ” I know, I’m sorry, I’m sorry. I’ll return it tomorrow and we can get a more normal car okay? Just at least let me drive it to our hotel tonight.”

I sigh, and look at the car. She really is trying to help. She just wants to make the trip more enjoyable for me. “Well, there’s no point in returning it now. We already have it. Let’s just drive  it to the hotel now please? I’m really tired.”

Kathy squeals and hugs me, catching me off guard.

“Yes! Thank you!”

We throw our bags in the back seats and I step into the car, immediately  pulled into the soft, welcoming cushions. Kathy starts the car, and the engine roars to life, triggering her to giggle like a little girl. I can’t help but smile. She screeches off, causing me to grab a hold of the edges of my seat. She speeds through the streets, whizzing past all the streetlights, and closed buildings. As we soar through the night, I can’t shake a feeling that surges through me. It’s something I haven’t felt in a long time.

Freedom.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “M A R T H A – 10

  1. I’m happy that Martha has a friend like Kathy, I just hope that Kathy continues to be the person she needs right now. She seems a little to focused on the adventure of searching for Mae instead of the motive behind it in this chapter. Again, such good writing! I like the style you use to start and finish each chapter.

  2. I like Kathy a lot. She seems to be very… i don’t know how to discribe it, happy, supportive, kind.

Leave a Reply