M A E-3

Chapter three

Searching

I’ve been walking for what seems like ages. The trees all look the same, and my fingers are beginning to feel numb. The last bit of water I had was this morning, and my whole body is shaking. Looking around, I search for a sign of food, or at least a drop of something drinkable. As I stand under the trees, mist silently raining down, I slow my breath. I listen to the forest, the sounds of the trees moving with the wind. Listening for something.

Breathe.

There it is. The tiniest sound, but it’s there. Water.

Still listening, I slowly start walking towards the source of the sound. I’m so thirsty I can barely swallow, as I blindly follow what I hope is water. Slowly, the trickling becomes louder, as I tromp through bushes and grass. As I pass over a large rock I gasp.

Water.

It’s a stream cascading between two rocks, going down and under my feet where I’m standing. It’s so small, yet My entire face beams, as I quickly press my face into the ice cold sanctuary. My throat thanks me, as the water trickles down, nourishing my entire body. After I’m satisfied, I fill up my canteen. Sighing, I get back up and put my canteen in my pack. Leaving this beautiful stream would be hard, but my family was my first priority. Getting up, I shove a few acorns in my mouth, wincing at the bland, dull taste. I will need to find other food soon, the acorns won’t last me more than half a day. I trudge through the stream, looking back at it one last time. Hopefully this was one of many, that I will find along my way. I’m off again, descending through the trees, and into the wilderness once again.

It’s getting dark. My feet ache with every step I take. I’ve been walking nonstop since I stopped at the stream, and my stomach is growling like crazy. Up ahead there is large tree. I can see the branches, almost like a ladder leading up to the top. My curiosity gets the best of me as I set down my back at the base, and start climbing up the branches. I’ve gotten pretty far up when I stop, and look out at the vast landscape. I start to cry.

It’s all trees.

As far as I can see, green tops cover everything, the fog encapsulating my surroundings. Questions start to swarm through me. Why did they do this to me? Why was I here? I don’t understand, its been almost a week and I feel like soon I might-

Something catches my eye.

I wipe away my tears and focus in on the small open space on the horizon. It’s faint, but its there, It looks like an opening, almost like a cliff. This is just what I need. Quickly, I climb down, throw on my pack, and start off again. This time I know where I’m going. And I will find it.

am lying under a tree and staring up at the dark sky. Under my blanket of fern and moss, I feel somewhat cozy for the first time since I’ve been here. Since I was taken. I let my thoughts wonder once again to that day. It has been so long since I let my mind go to that moment. I remember my mom running. She wanted to save me so badly, but I knew she wouldn’t make it in time. She was far away, and I was nearly to the van. But it always gets me the way she looked at me. It’s like we were speaking through our eyes.

Help me.

I’m almost there honey.

That was the last thing I remember before the men shoved something in my mouth, and I woke up under that tree. Not knowing where I was, scared, and sobbing. It never occurred to me why I was left with that backpack. If the men wanted to take me so badly, why did they give me a chance at survival? I don’t understand anything, and I won’t, until I’m safe at home with my mom, in her arms and –

Stop. It’s too much.

I was so focused on my own thoughts that I didn’t notice the single tear rolling down my cheek, or the rain that started to silently pour down on me.

 

One thought on “M A E-3

Leave a Reply