M A E-1

Chapter one 

Lost

It’s the same tree. I look up at the giant looming over me. It has the same familiar carvings as the one I passed almost two hours ago.

Darn it. 

I shake my head and slide my aching back down base of the tree, sighing, as I sit. My aching limbs thank me for the final rest they are receiving. Looking around, all I see are trees. Trees and more trees. It makes me want to scream; I haven’t been through an open field or found a source of water in days. It seems almost impossible now, that I will ever find anything. Putting my head in my hands, I shudder.

Breathe. Breathe. 

I’ve been able to stop myself from having a panic attack for the past few days, but its slowly been building up, and I feel like I will burst soon. I stretch my arms out, the numbness in my fingers starting to get worse. Looking up, I see the sky has started to darken, and the frost will soon start to cover everything. This should be a good place to stop for the night. I get up, and start searching for ferns and moss. I’ve realized that these forests are abundant with both; Moss not as much. After gathering as much as I can find, I start building my shelter. Just like every other night, I pile the ferns and moss under me, then start to layer it on top of me, trying to give myself as much warmth as possible. By the time I finish, it’s almost completely dark. I can barely see the outline of my breath. I squeeze my eyes shut. My mind wanders to what I’ve tried not to think about all day. I remember her smell, the way I feel when I hug her, Feeling so safe and

Stop.

I put my hands up to my eyes and push hard. No more tears. I’ve already cried insane amounts, so much so that I would just be shaking uncontrollably, and gasping with no tears. My mind was filled with never-ending amounts of fear, and worry.

Why am I here?

I asked myself that same question for 6 days. Now almost a full week. I spent the first three nights desperately crying, and having panic attacks, hugging myself and rocking back and forth. My own arms were the only sense of comfort I had. Now, I feel a pit of emptiness inside of my stomach. Something that won’t be filled until I’m back with my family. Until I’m away from here. Until I’m home. Slowly, my eyes start to droop closed, and then, darkness.

I awake to a squirrel trying to rummage through my backpack.

“Hey, stop that!”

Startled, it leaps away from me, and up a neighboring tree. My voice is horse, I realize I haven’t spoken out loud in days. I struggle to sit up as the frost bitten ferns and moss crackle with every move I make. Finally, standing up, I stretch, feeling my body give in to the morning. Picking up my backpack I feel how light it’s getting, soon it will be nothing but fabric. I decide to lay everything out I have, to check my inventory. With everything set out on the ground I feel the familiar tang of nerves sting through me. I survey everything in front of me.

-Sack of acorns(almost gone)

-Swiss army knife

-Small bag of smashed assorted berries

-Flashlight that’s out of batteries

– One bandanna

-A small flask for water

This is pathetic. The only clothing I have is on my back. Denim jeans, a long sleeved sweater, and a sweatshirt. My shoes are basic athletic wear. It’s what I’ve been wearing since I was-

Stop.  

I shake my head, and shuffle everything inside my backpack. I get up and look around me. From yesterdays walk, I see my steps heading towards the direction Of more trees. I decide to start off in the opposite direction. This is the way. I know it. I’m determined to find water today. Opening my flask, I drink whats left of one gulp of water. I eat some acorns, and then I’m off. Traveling towards civilization, then home.

6 thoughts on “M A E-1

  1. So engrossing and descriptive! It makes me wonder how she ended up in these circumstances… good idea increasing the suspense!

  2. wow! you are an amazing writer! i could learn a lot of techniques from you! i have never tried writing something as suspenseful as this, but you make me want to!

Leave a Reply